lastnoob.blogg.se

Mac delete key replacement
Mac delete key replacement




mac delete key replacement

Tapping it quickly a few times didn't cause it to release, the way it used to.

mac delete key replacement

There really isn't any tactile feedback to speak of, so it's worse than when I started. However, when I opened the laptop again this morning, I found that the Tab key, although it still works, moves up and down very slowly it takes a second or two to pop back up after I press it. When that was done and I booted back up, I found the key to be better than before, but it still seemed to require a little more pressure than other keys, and it didn't make the same clicky sound when I hit it. I also later realized the spring was displaced a little from where the original one had been (as evidenced by the still-visible metal circle under it). Unfortunately, I got way more glue on the spring than I had intended, and it oozed out a little. I let the glue dry for a few seconds before putting the key cap back on, and while I was waiting I pressed on the spring a few times to make sure it was still springy. You want to have the minimum amount of glue on yourĬup, just enough to make the cup stick while installing the hinges onto Then dip theĮdge of the rubber cup into the super glue. Satisfied with the way the Tab key was now behaving, I decided to superglue the spring as instructed on : Squeeze a small amount of super glue onto a sheet of paper.

mac delete key replacement

Worried I had shorted something, I shut down, repositioned the spring, and booted back up, and things seemed normal again. Right away after that I noticed that pressing Caps Lock would sometimes trigger a tab maybe one time in seven or eight presses. I had a replacement rubber spring from my old MacBook, so I tore the one off the new laptop and put that one in its place, without gluing it down or anything. Also, after first opening up the laptop, the key seemed to be stuck down until I tapped it a few times.

#MAC DELETE KEY REPLACEMENT PRO#

To make a long question short: What's the proper way to replace a rubber spring (inverted cup-like thing) under a keycap, specifically the Tab key on a unibody design MacBook Pro or Air?ĭetails: I just bought a used MacBook Pro (so it's out of warranty), and noticed the Tab key felt spongy.






Mac delete key replacement